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Chapter 11 - Vehicle Operations 
 

This chapter includes state and federal regulations that pertain to operating vehicles, including what 
types of operations are allowed with vehicles purchased with FTA funds, and what regulations cover the 

drivers.  

Titles and Licenses for Transit Vehicles 

All vehicles purchased with funds administered by OPT must be titled and licensed to the designated 
public transit system. Obtaining titles and license plates is the responsibility of the individual transit 

system, although your assigned TPA will assist in the process. Application procedures for public and 
private non-profit systems differ.  

Titles 
Iowa law provides free titles through the state for all government-owned 
vehicles. Vehicles owned by private non-profit transit systems must be 

titled through the local county (for a $25 fee.) 

    

License 

Plates 

Iowa law provides free license plates through the state for all 
government-owned vehicles. Vehicles owned by private non-profit transit 

systems must be licensed through the local county (for a $25 fee.) 

Transit systems organized as public agencies should submit originals of the following items to their 
TPA in OPT: 

1. Application for State of Iowa Transit Bus Plates  

2. Applications for Certificate of Title and/or Registration  
3. Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (new vehicle) or Certificate of Title from previous 

owner authorizing transfer (used vehicle) 

4. Odometer Disclosure Statement (if the vehicle has a gross vehicle weight rating of less 
than 16,000 pounds and is less than 10 years old). Odometer Statement form is not 

needed if the Odometer Disclosure For Retail Sale section has been completed and 
signed on the back of the Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin. 

5. Damage Disclosure Statement 
6. Add Inventory Form (submit to database) 

7. Post Delivery Audit Certification must be completed before the title is transferred to the 

transit system  
 

*If funded 100% with local funds, the transit system only needs to add the vehicle to its 
inventory through the portal.  No other information is needed by the OPT. 

Transit systems organized as private non-profit corporations should submit originals of the 
following items to their county treasurer:  

1. Applications for Certificate of Title and/or Registration  

2. Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (new vehicle) or Certificate of Title from previous 

owner authorizing transfer (used vehicle) 
3. Odometer Disclosure Statement (if the vehicle has a gross vehicle weight rating of less 

than 16,000 pounds and is less than 10 years old) 
4. Damage Disclosure Statement 

5. Current title fee 

  

https://forms.iowadot.gov/BrowseForms.aspx?templateid=020025
https://forms.iowadot.gov/BrowseForms.aspx?templateid=411007
https://forms.iowadot.gov/BrowseForms.aspx?templateid=411077
https://forms.iowadot.gov/BrowseForms.aspx?templateid=411108
https://entaa.iowa.gov/entaa/sso?appId=DOT_TRWB&callingApp=https%3a%2f%2fsecure.iowadot.gov%2fTransit%2fGatekeeper.aspx%20-%20topHeader#topHeader
https://forms.iowadot.gov/BrowseForms.aspx?templateid=020109
https://forms.iowadot.gov/BrowseForms.aspx?templateid=411007
https://forms.iowadot.gov/BrowseForms.aspx?templateid=411077
https://forms.iowadot.gov/BrowseForms.aspx?templateid=411108
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Private non-profit transit systems should then submit originals of the following to their assigned TPA 
in OPT: 

1. Application for State of Iowa Transit Bus Plates  

2. Copy of Certificate of Title 

3. Add Inventory Form (submit to database) 
4. Post Delivery Audit Certification  

 
*If funded 100% with local funds, the transit system only needs to add the vehicle to its 

inventory through the portal.  No other information is needed by the OPT. 

NOTE: Prior to placing a vehicle in operation, the transit manager should also notify the insurance carrier 

to add the vehicle to the system's insurance policy.  

Reuse of Transit License Plates – Whenever a transit system transfers or sells a vehicle, the transit 

system must remove the transit license plates. These license plates should be retained by the transit 
system and used when the transit system receives another transit vehicle. 

Transit plate transfers involve the same paperwork as applying for transit bus plates, with one additional 

item of information: the plate number from the bus being replaced should be indicated as the plate 

number on the application for transit bus plates. 

Stolen License Plates – If a license plate or a set of license plates is stolen, it should be reported to 
the police as soon as possible. OPT should also be notified. OPT will contact vehicle registration and a 

new set of plates will be issued. The transit system must also write a letter to the Motor Vehicle Division 

identifying the vehicle and detailing the situation. 

Liens 
The OPT places liens on all state and federally funded vehicles and facilities for projects where grant 

funding is administered by the State. The purpose of the lien is to protect state and federal interest. For 

purposes of this lien process, government agencies shall be defined as those operated by municipalities, 
counties, and 28E, 28M, and 28H organizations. Non-government transit agencies are private non-profit 

and private for-profit organizations. The Iowa DOT should be listed as the First Security Interest in the 
“Security Interest Information” section of the Application for Certificate of Title and/or Registration. As a 

point of clarification, the OPT defines federal interest with FTA Useful Life Standards. 
 

Vans and LD buses 4 years or 100,000 miles 

MD buses 7 years or 200,000 miles 

HD buses less than 35 feet 10 years or 350,000 miles 

HD buses ≥ 35 feet 12 years or 500,000 miles 
 

Removing Liens 
The lien on a particular vehicle can be removed when the useful life has been met. For government 

agencies, the agency must send a formal request to their respective TPA to remove the lien. If the 
request is approved, the OPT will release the title and send it to the transit agency. For all non-

government agencies whose liens are held at the county level, the agency must submit a “Cancellation of 
Security Interest” form to the particular county holding the lien and the title will be released to the transit 

agency. 

Driver Licensing 
Iowa law requires any paid employee operating a vehicle carrying passengers (whether general public or 
client) to have the appropriate chauffeur's license or commercial driver license (CDL). OPT policy applies 

the same requirement to any volunteer driving a public transit vehicle. This provision applies to all 

subcontractors and must be stated in all third party contracts. Employees of other agencies who may be 

https://forms.iowadot.gov/BrowseForms.aspx?templateid=020025
https://entaa.iowa.gov/entaa/sso?appId=DOT_TRWB&callingApp=https%3a%2f%2fsecure.iowadot.gov%2fTransit%2fGatekeeper.aspx#topHeader
https://forms.iowadot.gov/BrowseForms.aspx?templateid=020109
https://forms.iowadot.gov/BrowseForms.aspx?templateid=411007
https://forms.iowadot.gov/BrowseForms.aspx?templateid=411168
https://forms.iowadot.gov/BrowseForms.aspx?templateid=411168
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authorized to drive the vehicle or volunteers who are driving a vehicle funded through OPT are included. 
Volunteers driving their own cars are not covered by this policy. 

The federal Commercial Vehicle Act requires anyone driving a vehicle designed for more than 15 

passengers to have a CDL with passenger endorsement. This requirement applies to all vehicles designed 

to transport 16 or more persons regardless of how the vehicle was funded and applies to volunteer 
drivers. It applies whether or not the vehicle is occupied and whether or not it is in revenue service. 

The type of license needed is determined by the size of the vehicle. Any transit bus over 10,000 pound 

gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) is considered designed for 16 or more passengers. This applies to 

vehicles that have been retrofitted for wheelchair passengers and, therefore, no longer transport 16 
passengers. If the vehicle has a seating capacity of 15 or fewer (including driver), the driver needs a 

Class "D" (chauffeur's) license. Go to the DOT Motor Vehicle Division’s License type and fees webpage for 
a list of license types and costs.  

Basic Requirements of the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act (CMVSA) of 1986 - The 
Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 was passed to help reduce or prevent truck and bus 

accidents, fatalities and injuries by requiring drivers to have a single commercial motor vehicle driver's 
license. The act also disqualifies drivers who operate commercial motor vehicles in an unsafe manner.  

 A job applicant for a transit job must provide the transit agency with employer 

information on all driving jobs held for the past 10 years. A driver requiring a CDL cannot 
have more than one license. The candidate must certify that they provided truthful 

information. The transit agency must inform the candidate that the information may be 
used in the employment decision and that former employer’s may be contacted. This 

requirement also applies to an existing employee who is later assigned driving duties.  
 A CDL driver must notify their employer within 30 days of a conviction for any traffic 

violations (except parking). This is true no matter which type of vehicle was driven or in 

which state it occurred.  

 A CDL driver must also notify the Office of Driver Services within 30 days if convicted in 

any other jurisdiction of any traffic violation (except parking). This is true no matter 
which type of vehicle was being driven when the conviction occurred.  

 A CDL driver must notify the employer if the license is suspended, revoked, or canceled, 

or if disqualified from driving.  
 No one can drive a commercial motor vehicle without a CDL.  

 Violations by either employees or management can result in a civil penalty of up to 

$2,500. Knowing and willful violations are subject to a criminal penalty of up to $5,000.  

Commercial Driver's License (CDL) – Effective July 8, 2015, drivers wanting to obtain a CDL or to 
add certain endorsements to an existing CDL will be required to first obtain and hold for 14 days a 

Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP).  This is a requirement of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Administration and details can be found in 49 CFR 383.25.  A CLP is considered a valid CDL for purposes 

of behind-the-wheel training on public roads or highways, if the following conditions are met: 

• The CLP holder is at all times accompanied by a valid CDL holder who has the proper CDL group 
and endorsement(s) necessary to operate the CMV. The CDL holder must be physically present in 

the front seat of the vehicle next to the CLP holder or, in the case of a passenger vehicle, directly 
behind or in the first row behind the driver and must have the CLP holder under observation and 

direct supervision. 

• The CLP holder holds a valid driver's license issued by the same jurisdiction that issued the CLP. 

• The CLP holder must have taken and passed a general knowledge test for the commercial motor 
vehicle (CMV) that person operates or expects to operate. 

• The CLP holder must be 18 years of age or older. 
 

  

http://www.iowadot.gov/mvd/ods/types.htm
http://www.reginfo.gov/public/do/DownloadDocument?documentID=493984&version=0.
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=aa4a5302395b392bbd24a878ae8a3441&mc=true&node=se49.5.383_125&rgn=div8
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Endorsements 

• A CLP holder with a passenger (P) endorsement must have taken and passed the P endorsement 

knowledge test. A CLP holder with a P endorsement is prohibited from operating a CMV carrying 
passengers, other than Federal/State auditors and inspectors, test examiners, other trainees, and 

the CDL holder accompanying the CLP holder as prescribed by paragraph (a)(1) of this section. 
The P endorsement must be class specific. 

• A CLP holder with a school bus (S) endorsement must have taken and passed the S endorsement 
knowledge test. A CLP holder with an S endorsement is prohibited from operating a school bus 

with passengers other than Federal/State auditors and inspectors, test examiners, other trainees, 

and the CDL holder accompanying the CLP holder. 

• Aside from the tank vehicle (N) endorsement, all other endorsements are prohibited on a CLP. 

 
Other CLP Information 

• The CLP must be a separate document from the CDL or non-CDL. 

• The CLP must be valid for no more than 180 days from the date of issuance. The State may 

renew the CLP for an additional 180 days without requiring the CLP holder to retake the general 
and endorsement knowledge tests. 

• The issuance of a CLP is a precondition to the initial issuance of a CDL. The issuance of a CLP is 

also a precondition to the upgrade of a CDL if the upgrade requires a skills test. 

• The CLP holder is not eligible to take the CDL skills test in the first 14 days after initial issuance 

of the CLP. 

• Documentation is required upon renewal of a CLP. 

• There is no longer a grace period when a CDL expires, the expiration date on the CDL is the 
expiration date of the driver's eligibility to legally operate a Commercial Motor Vehicle. 

• Any license document which is currently valid without a photo is no longer eligible after July 8, 
2015. 

Anyone driving a passenger CMV that meets the requirements of a CDL must have a passenger 
endorsement, including mechanics required to road test a vehicle. This requires passing knowledge and 

skills tests. A public transit driver who operates vehicles with air brakes must pass the air brake 
knowledge and skills tests, using a vehicle equipped with air brakes for the test, to prevent having a 

restriction ‘L’, vehicles without air brakes, on their CLP/CDL. 

An examiner will administer skills (drive) tests at several locations by appointment on specified days. An 

appointment may be made by contacting any driver's license station after completing and passing the 
necessary CDL knowledge tests. The pre-trip portion of the skills test must be passed before going on to 

the driving portion of the test. To find out the current locations that offer appointments for the skills test 
call the Office of Driver Services at (800) 532-1121, or visit the Iowa DOT Driver License webpage.  

The Iowa CDL skills test includes a pre-trip inspection, road test and the following skills:  

 forward stop;  

 measured right turn;  

 straight line back; and  

 alley dock - back left from 90 degrees.  

Effective July 8, 2015, an option for an ‘E’ restriction on a CDL will be added.  The E restriction indicates 
no manual transmission.  If an applicant performs the skills test in a vehicle equipped with an automatic 

transmission, the State must indicate on the CDL, if issued, that the person is restricted from operating a 
CMV with a manual transmission.  For purposes of the skills test and the restriction, an automatic 

transmission includes any transmission not operating fully on the gear shift and clutch principle. 

 
CDL study manuals are available upon request from Iowa DOT driver license stations and on the Iowa 

DOT CDL webpage.   
 

http://www.iowadot.gov/mvd/ods/dlsites.htm
http://www.iowadot.gov/mvd/ods/cdl.htm


Office of Public Transit    Chapter 11 
Transit Manager’s Handbook   2016 

 

87 

 

January 30, 2012, the Iowa DOT Office of Driver Services began compliance procedures required by 49 
CFR Parts 383.71 and 383.73 to link medical qualifications to the issuance of a CDL.  These rules apply to 

every person who is issued a new CDL, renews a CDL, upgrades a CDL or transfers a CDL from one state 
to another.  The driver must self-certify to what type of driving they do or expect to do.  The self-

certification categories are as follows:  
 

 Interstate Non-excepted 

 Interstate Excepted 

 Intrastate Non-excepted 

 Intrastate Excepted  

 

Those who self-certify to Interstate Non-excepted must also provide to the Office of Driver Services a 
copy of their Medical Examiner Certificates.   Those self-certifying to Intrastate Non-excepted must carry 

a copy of their Medical Examiner Certificate with them at all times. 
 

All CDL holders must provide a new self-certification no later than January 30, 2014.  Failure to do so will 

result in a federally mandated downgrade of the CDL to a non-commercial status.   
 

Public transit drivers employed by a city, county, or 28E (i.e. government) are exempt (Interstate-
excepted or Intrastate-excepted) per Part 390.3(f)(2) and need only provide the self-certification to the 

Office of Driver Services by 1/30/2014.  Public transit drivers employed by non-profit or for-profit 
agencies will either need to provide the Office of Driver Services with a copy of the Medical Examiner 

Certificate for Interstate Non-excepted or carry the Medical Examiner Certificate with them at all times for 

Intrastate Non-excepted. 
 

Equipment operators may provide the self-certification at renewal time prior to January 30, 2014 or 
independently at any other time before that date.     

 

The Office of Driver Services has activated a new webpage that provides additional information on this 
requirement: http://www.iowadot.gov/mvd/ods/MCRforCDL.html.  This webpage provides a link where 

the self-certification form may be downloaded.  Questions may be directed to the Office of Driver 
Services at CDLMedCert@dot.iowa.gov. 

Chauffeur's License – Iowa law requires drivers of vehicles designed to transport 15 or fewer persons 

(including the driver) to hold a chauffeur's license when the operation is for hire or the driver is 
compensated in any way. If the vehicle is redesigned or modified to transport 15 or fewer disabled 

passengers and the GVWR is 10,001 or more pounds, a CDL is required instead of a chauffeur's license. 

The holder of a CDL may operate vehicles which requiring a chauffeur's license; however, a chauffeur's 

license is NOT valid as a commercial driver's license. 

Chauffeur's licenses are not required for operation which is "occasional and incidental". This provision is 
applicable for someone who, in an emergency driving situation, must transport passengers. Anyone hired 

who might be required to transport clients as part of his/her job must have a chauffeur's license or CDL. 

Procedures for Checking Driver’s License Records 

Each of Iowa's public transit agencies may establish an account for accessing Iowa driver records on-line. 
The operation is handled by a private business called "Iowa Interactive", 

http://www.iowaccess.net/iowadlr/. Use of this service for official business is free to all of Iowa's 

designated transit systems, and to other government users. (Others pay $8.50 per record check.) You do 
have to contact Iowa Interactive to establish your free account. This takes about two days, so you will 

want to set up your account in advance of the next time you want to check a record. Each designated 
transit system can establish multiple user IDs and passwords under its account, for each employee who is 

authorized to access the service and also, if you wish, for subcontractors who you may be requiring to 

check their employee's driver records. Iowa Interactive can be contacted at 866-492-3468 or via email at 

http://www.iowadot.gov/mvd/ods/MCRforCDL.html
mailto:CDLMedCert@dot.iowa.gov
http://www.iowaccess.net/iowadlr/
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dlrsupport@iowai.org. Once your agency's account is established, you'll get a user manual which 
describes all the capabilities of the system and the procedures involved. The manual is written for all 

users and therefore discusses fees and invoicing procedures. As a transit system, just skip over these 
parts, since billing details do not apply to designated transit systems. Please note: Even though the 

transit system is not charged, a log of record checks made by each transit systems is kept, and can be 
monitored by the transit system to see who is using the system and what records are being checked. For 

private companies this is important because each check is costing the company money. For transit 

systems, it's more a matter of verifying that all checks are for "official purposes." This will also allow 
systems to verify that their contractors are conducting driver checks as required by contract, etc. 

Fuel Taxes 

There are federal and state regulations that apply to the purchase of fuel and environmental issues 

related to the use and storage of fuel. This section covers fuel tax, purchase of fuel from Iowa DOT, 
underground storage tanks, and diesel emission standards. 

State Fuel Taxes – Chapter 452A of the Iowa Code details the Iowa fuel tax requirements. Public 

transit systems are exempt from paying Iowa tax on fuel used for general public transportation. When 

the fuel is pumped into the vehicle at a service station, the taxes (state and federal) must be paid and a 
refund requested later. When fuel is pumped into bulk tanks owned by the system, a tax is not imposed if 

the fuel is used for public transportation. Any fuel used from this tank for non-public transportation use 
must be reported on the quarterly fuel tax report and the tax due must be submitted to the Iowa DOT, 

Office of Motor Carrier Services, P.O. Box 10382, Des Moines, IA  50306-0382. 

The law granting transit systems an exemption from tax on fuel used for public transportation requires 

quarterly reporting of fuel used, even if no tax or refund is due. Fuel used for "incidental" or charter 
service is taxable and must be reported on the quarterly fuel tax report. Penalties for false reporting 

range up to a $2,000 fine and two years in prison on top of the penalties for nonpayment of taxes due. 

The quarterly fuel tax report is discussed in Chapter 6 - Reporting Requirements. 

Quarterly fuel tax reports are due 30 calendar days after the end of the reporting quarter. The tax code 
allows a 7.5 percent penalty to be added to fuel taxes if not paid by the due date. The transit system 

must also pay interest on the additional tax at the rate in effect under Section 421.7 of the Code of Iowa. 

Refer to your Quarterly Fuel Tax Form and Instructions to compute the additional tax and interest due. 

The following fuels are subject to the Iowa Motor Fuel Tax: 

1. Gasoline  

2. Gasohol  
3. Diesel  

4. Compressed natural gas (CNG)  
5. Liquidified petroleum gas (LPG)  

6. Propane  

7. 100 % ethanol  
8. 100% methanol  

Iowa Administrative Rules outlining exemptions and procedures for fuel tax refunds can be found here. 

Federal Fuel Taxes - Iowa transit systems operated by units of state or local government are exempt 
from federal fuel taxes. This applies to both gasoline and diesel fuel, but the process for the exemption 

varies.  

Gasoline is purchased, including a governmental unit purchasing the fuel in bulk, with the fuel taxes 

added at time of purchase. An agency must file for a refund on the number of gallons used.  

mailto:helpcenter@iowai.org
http://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/ACO/IC/LINC/Chapter.452A.pdf
http://www.iowadot.gov/transit/handbook/Chapter_6.pdf
http://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/ACO/IC/LINC/Section.421.7.pdf
https://forms.iowadot.gov/BrowseForms.aspx?templateid=020077
https://coolice.legis.iowa.gov/cool-ice/default.asp?category=billinfo&service=iowacode&ga=82&input=452A
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Governmental entities purchasing diesel fuel in bulk may purchase the fuel tax-free.  Governmental 
entities purchasing diesel fuel in bulk, but not for their exclusive use, or purchasing diesel fuel at the 

pump must pay the federal fuel taxes at the time of purchase and then file for a refund. 

Public transit systems operated by private non-profit corporations may also be eligible for exemptions 

from federal fuel taxes on any vehicles that are: 

1. operated for compensation,  
2. operated open to the general public, and  

3. either  

a. operated in fixed-route service (any size vehicle), or  
b. operated in demand-responsive mode (vehicles must have capacity for 20 or 

more passengers.)  

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) discusses fuel tax credits for buses and other exempt uses in 

Publication 510. For answers to tax questions, contact the IRS at 1-800-829-1040. 

Gasohol Usage Required – Since 1991, vehicles purchased or used by any city or county in Iowa must 
use gasoline blended with ethanol. Each of the vehicles required to use ethanol-blended gasoline must 

display a "brightly visible sticker” notifying the traveling public that the motor vehicle is being operated on 

gasoline blended with ethanol. All "gasoline" transit vehicles, whether revenue vehicles, maintenance 
vehicles, or supervisory/staff vehicles, owned by a city or a 28E organization created by cities and/or 

counties are affected by this law, even if the vehicles are operated by a subcontractor who is not a public 
entity. Vehicles owned by private non-profit transit systems are covered as well, if they are operated by a 

subcontractor who is a public entity. Diesel vehicles are not affected. 

Arrangements for the purchase of ethanol-blended gasoline is a local responsibility. The required bumper 

stickers may be obtained from a variety of vendors. One source of the stickers is Iowa Prison Industries, 
which offers stickers specifically designed to meet the law's requirement for public agencies (including all 

public transit systems). The stickers can be ordered by calling Prison Industries' toll-free number at 1-

800-332-7922. 

Regulations on Fuel Tanks – The Iowa Department of Natural Resources issued regulations on fuel 
storage tanks that conform with federal regulations. These rules can be found in the Iowa Administrative 

Code, 567, Chapters 134 and 135. 

Bus Emission Standards – The Clean Air Act includes new diesel bus emission standards that apply to 

heavy duty urban transit buses. Transit systems purchasing heavy-duty urban buses should know the 
current regulations and state in bus specifications that vehicles meet the current emission standards. The 

Code of Federal Regulations Title 40 Part 86 sets forth bus emission standards.  

Persons with Disabilities Parking Permits – The State of Iowa has a program requiring reserved 

parking spaces for persons with disabilities. Transit systems carrying passengers with disabilities are 
eligible to use these spaces. Transit systems may receive one parking permit for each vehicle used to 

transport persons with disabilities. The permit will allow the vehicle to use restricted parking spaces when 

loading and unloading passengers with disabilities. Click here for an Application for Persons with 
Disabilities Parking Permit.  

The application form should be taken to the local driver license examiner station or mailed to: 

Office of Vehicle Services 
P.O. Box 9278 

Des Moines, IA 50306-9278 

http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p510.pdf
http://www.iaprisonind.com/
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/law/administrativeRules/chapters?agency=567&pubDate=04-29-2015https://www.legis.iowa.gov/law/administrativeRules/chapters?agency=567&pubDate=04-29-2015
http://www.epa.gov/air/caa/
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=ecfr&tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40cfr86_main_02.tpl
https://forms.iowadot.gov/BrowseForms.aspx?templateid=411055
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Insurance  
Iowa public transit systems, as motor carriers serving primarily "elderly, disabled, and other 

transportation disadvantaged persons", are exempted from in-state liability insurance requirements found 
in Chapter 325A of the Iowa Code. Public transit systems must meet the requirements found in the Iowa 

Administrative Code chapter on Coordination of Public Transit Services. Subsection 910.5(1) states: "All 
vehicles used for the public transit services it provides or contracts for (must be) insured for $1 million 

per accident for all hazards or the provider (must maintain) a self-insurance fund adequate to provide 

equivalent protection." 

Any public transit system whose service crosses state boundaries is covered under federal insurance 
requirements. Special provisions included in the Interstate Commerce Commission Termination Act of 

1995 require public transit systems to meet the highest state public transit insurance requirement of the 

states they operate in. Iowa transit systems operating across state boundaries are encouraged to contact 
each state in which they operate. 

There is no requirement to carry any specified level of coverage for collision or comprehensive losses; 

however, transit systems should recognize that they are required to maintain equipment in functional and 

presentable condition. Vehicle damage must be repaired. Each transit system must decide whether to 
insure or self-insure against such losses or whether to cover the repair costs from the operation’s budget. 

Transit systems that purchase services from subproviders are responsible for assuring that the required 

level of protection is provided for all services operated as part of the public transit program. Some 

systems choose to do this by passing along the insurance requirements via the purchase of service 
contract (also specifying that the transit system be named as an ‘additional insured’ on the subprovider's 

policy.) Others choose to provide the vehicle coverage in a single policy covering all subproviders' fleets. 
This is done through a policy with ‘hired and non-owned vehicle coverage.’ 

Incidental Use of Transit Vehicles 
Federal law allows vehicles bought with FTA assistance to be used for incidental purposes, such as 

charter service, meal and parcel delivery services, etc. under the following conditions:  

 the fully allocated cost of the incidental usages is paid from funds other than public transit funds,  

 the total incidental usage of any vehicle does not exceed 20 percent of total vehicle usage, and  

 the incidental usage does not interfere with the use of the equipment for public transit service.  

Systems may not justify additional vehicles based on incidental services. The use of any vehicle for 
incidental purposes does not count toward attainment of the minimum useful life that FTA requires for 

each vehicle. 

Note: There are specific rules on what qualifies as an eligible charter service and what procedures must 

be followed for charter service, even though it is considered an allowable incidental use. Further 
discussion of FTA's charter regulations is found in Chapter 15.  

On-board Safety Equipment 
Iowa DOT requires the following safety equipment to be on-board public transit vehicles when in 

operation:   
 fire extinguisher 

 bio-hazard kit 

 first aid kit 

 reflective triangles 

 seatbelt webcutter 

 flashlight 

 reflective vest 

 

http://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/ACO/IC/LINC/Chapter.325A.pdf
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The Iowa DOT does not require a specific reflectivity level of the vests, only that they be reflective.  Also, 
individual transit systems are responsible for determining when drivers would be required to wear the 

reflective vest (i.e. all times a bus is moving, whenever driver exits the vehicle, only when the vehicle is 
having maintenance issues, etc.).   

Staff Car Prohibition 
Capital funds administered by OPT may not be used for the purchase of vehicles for staff transportation. 

Vehicles which have exceeded FTA's minimum useful life standards or vehicles purchased with other 
funds may be used for this purpose. Vehicles purchased as staff cars may use official transit plates. 

Student Transportation 
FTA funded vehicles may not be used for exclusive school services. FTA allows transportation of students 

in open-to-the-public service. Fixed-route systems can provide ‘tripper service.’  Tripper service is 
‘‘regularly scheduled mass transportation service which is open to the public, and which is designed or 

modified to accommodate the needs of school students and personnel, using various fare collections or 
subsidy systems.’’  (See 49 CFR 605.3(b).)   

 

The modifications to accommodate students and school personnel are not open-ended; they are limited 
to using different fare collections and subsidy systems and minor modifications in route or frequency of 

scheduling to accommodate the extra passengers that may be expected to use particular routes at 
particular times of day. (See 73 Fed. Reg. at 53385.)  Examples of modification:  add more buses along 

routes in morning when school begins, offer fare cards to students at subsidized rates, make short route 

deviations up to several blocks in length to drop off and pickup students in front of a school. 
 

In contrast to tripper service, FTA interprets the definition of ‘‘school bus operations’’ to include service 
that a reasonable person would conclude was primarily designed to accommodate students and school 

personnel and only incidentally to serve the nonstudent general public.  (See 73 Fed. Reg. at 53385.) 

Students may also be served as part of a demand-responsive general public service. Qualified students 
with disabilities can be served as part of ADA paratransit service. As long as the students pay their own 
fares, they are treated the same as any other rider. 

Iowa law allows regional transit systems to contract with schools, day care centers, and other institutions 
for non-exclusive subscription transportation of students. Specific standards are established for vehicles 

to be used for such services, as well as for drivers, and for operating practices. 

Regional transit vehicles used for non-exclusive student transportation contracts must meet specific 

federal motor vehicle safety standards, over and above those established for commercial buses, and must 
be inspected each semester by the Iowa Department of Education. The drivers driving vehicles used in 

student transportation must meet specific standards, including passing criminal records reviews, and 
must receive school bus driver training or equivalent. Students must be picked up or dropped off on the 

same side of the street as their ultimate origin or destination. Students may not be released except to 

parents, guardians, school personnel, or social service or law enforcement personnel. 

The full scope of the requirements for contracted student transportation by public transit systems can be 
found here.  

Seatbelt Usage  
Seat belt use is required by Iowa law for drivers and front seat passengers in transit vehicles other than 

buses. Bus drivers are also required to wear seatbelts. No passengers on a bus are required by law to 
wear seatbelts, except that regional transit systems transporting students aboard vehicles without school 

bus type compartmentalized seating must require students to wear seatbelts. Transit systems may 

require all passengers to wear seat belts. Persons with disabilities may only be required to use personal 
restraints if all other passengers are required to wear seat belts. More information is found in Chapter 

321 of the Iowa Code.  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/law/administrativeRules/rules?agency=761&chapter=911&pubDate=04-29-2015
http://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/ACO/IC/LINC/Section.321.445.pdf
http://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/ACO/IC/LINC/Section.321.445.pdf
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Child Restraint Usage 
Under Iowa law, passengers aboard buses are exempt from the general law requiring use of child safety 

seats. Students transported under contract aboard regional transit vehicles not equipped with school bus 
style compartmentalized seating must be in child restraints if they meet the criteria in the law. Head Start 

students meeting the age and weight criteria of the law are always required to be transported in child 
safety seats, whether or not school bus style seating is used. Transit systems may provide child safety 

seats for use by other passengers meeting the criteria of the law. More information can be found in 

Chapter 321 of the Iowa Code.  

http://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/ACO/IC/LINC/Section.321.446.pdf



